HomeOfficersCalendarGalleryElisha Chapter #89LinksHistoryBusiness&Sponsors




Our Masonic Fraternity has its humble beginning on August 30, 1930. A group of Brethren under the leadership of Jesse D. Williams held regular communication on Eastern Avenue, in the East End of Cincinnati, over a church, which has now been destroyed. As the lodge grew in number, the original site was not adequate to accommodate its rapid growth. In 1944, it was deemed necessary to move to new quarters located at Court and John Streets in the old West End. In 1945, at the suggestion of a majority of the Craft, Elisha Lodge transplanted itself again. This time the meeting place was in the basement of Mount Zion Church, located in Walnut Hills at Walter and Altoona Streets.

In 1945, Delphi Lodge, prospering financially, comparatively speaking, working under dispensation, petitioned the Grand Lodge of the State of Ohio for a Charter. Not wishing to overload the First Masonic District with Lodges, the Grand Lodge suggested that Delphi Lodge merge with Elisha Lodge # 106, which was already chartered. Elisha Lodge was chosen because it was the youngest Lodge in terms of years. From this merger has emerged one of the finest Lodges in the State. Through young, aggressive, and dedicated Masters, Elisha Lodge has moved onward and upward. From Mount Zion Church, Elisha moved to the Y.M.C.A. located on Melrose Avenue in Walnut Hills. In 1962, the Y.M.C.A. was reconstructed. Thus the Lodge meetings were moved by majority vote of the Craft, to 817 Windham Avenue. Elisha Lodge had been meeting there on the first and third Saturdays until the day, January 6, 1992.

In 1989, a Special Investment Committee was formed under the Administration of Worshipful Master Michael Frye. This special committee was carried over into the next Administration of Worshipful Master Don Maurice Stovall. The investment Committee's duty was to raise funds for the Lodge through a series of investments. In November 1990, Past Master John Nolan brought to the attention of the Investment Committee, an investment property located at 6110 Hamilton Avenue as a possible site for a Lodge Hall. Under the leadership of Worshipful Master Michael Vinegar, the "6110 Project Committee" was formed consisting of thirteen Brothers from Elisha, for the express purpose of purchasing the building. In January 1991, an offer was tendered to purchase the building. On the May 13, 1991, the deal was closed. In the tradition of our humble beginning that August 30, 1930, Elisha was again at that threshold. Webster defines threshold as a point of place of entering or beginning. The Administration of Worshipful Master Robert B. Lane entered and began its office in their new home, at 6110 Hamilton Avenue. This was a threshold because it was the beginning of the first time in the history of Elisha # 106 that the Lodge had the obligation and responsibility of a building.

We continue to share the joy of our new beginning and the hope and prosperity it brings. We are still enjoying our new home and the luxury we have so long wrought, but we must forever be mindful that nothing comes easy and you don't get something for nothing. You have made your wishes known. You have empowered a committee to raise funds for the Lodge through a series of investments and they came back with a building.

Since that time, our membership decreased in average age with new blood that has produced "Master Masons of the Year", "Worshipful Master of the Year", "Deputy of the Year" and "Lodge of the Year". We have formed an alliance with a Lodge in St. Louis, Mo., Claude F. Wise Lodge No. 171. Whereby reciprocating visits have and will be made between the two cities. We are a proud group that will continue to grow in Masonry along with all our brothers in the 1st Masonic District and the entire Prince Hall Masonic Family worldwide.

During the 90's the building company did an excellent job with investment properties, that significantly reduced the mortgage loans on 6110 Hamilton ave.. Unfortunately in the new millennium those investments ceased to exist and the subsequent loss of the first floor tenants caused a financial hardship and the building was sold in 2009. Elisha Lodge moved to a temporary location, the Springfield Township Senior center, and then on to 1647 Clayton street (owned by Shriners, Sinai Temple #59) in 2010.

In 2011, Past Master Kelvin J. Davis was elected Right Worshipful Junior Grand Warden - RWJGW, of the Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge of Ohio. In 2013, Past Master Davis was elected RW Senior Grand Warden. In 2015, Past Master Davis was elected RW Deputy Grand Master. We fully expect in 2017, Elisha Lodge will have it's first GM in office, God willing!


Past Masters of Elisha Lodge #106

1938 James W. Williams* 1989 Michael W. Frye
1939 James W. Williams* 1990 D. Maurice Stovall*
1940 Fulton Riley* 1991 Michael A. Vinegar
1941 Fulton Riley* 1992 Robert B. Lane*
1942 Elmo Hellman* 1993 Donald Canady
1943 Elmo Hellman* 1994 Kelvin J. Davis, Sr.
1944 Edward Swoop* 1995 Kelvin J. Davis, Sr.
1945 Albert Howard* 1996 Richard A Merriweather
1946 Robert Campbell* 1997 Martin A. Rutland
1947 Robert Campbell* 1998 Phillip A. Smith
1948 Robert Campbell* 1999 William H. Carter
1949 George W. Thomas* 2000 Jerome Byrd
1950 George W. Thomas* 2001 Thomas W. Fisher *
1951 William Price* 2002 Robert H. Carpenter
1952 Carl Hicks* 2003 Derrick R. Mayes
1953 Carl Hicks* 2004 Lonnie Jones II
1954 Adolphus Ward* 2005 LaDonald Prophett
1955 Major L. Williams 2006 Clayton E. Neel
1956 Joseph A. Black* 2007 Walter V. Sydnor
1957 Joseph A. Black* 2008 Gerald L. Lilly
1958 Major L. Williams 2009 Julian E. McClain
1959 Herbert Moore* 2010 Bobby H. Hadley
1960 Leon Kershaw* 2011 Robert H. Carpenter
1961 James Duncan* 2012 Jay B. Davis
1962 Woodrow Abernathy* 2013 Craig S. Hampton
1962 John J. Nolan, Jr. 2014 Jay G. Ponder
1963 Joseph J. Harper 2015 Roland G. Patterson
1964 Oscar Watson 2016 Robert Wright
1965 Lewis Johnson, Jr.* 2017 Larkin Banks
1966 Daniel I. Neal* 2018 Austin Underwood
1967 Joseph W. Gordon*    
1968 Fredrick R. Watson*    
1969 George B. Graves*    
1970 William Tate    
1971 Tony Dickson*    
1972 Oliver Sankey*    
1973 James Kavanaugh    
1974 Robert Anderson*    
1975 Steve Jordan*    
1976 Albert B. Jones*    
1977 John R. Davis, Sr.*    
1978 John A. Holt *    
1979 Leroy Carroll    
1980 Erroll Mathews    
1981 Ollie W. Scott    
1982 Willie J. Booker*    
1983 Clarence Sanders*    
1984 Rudolph Murray    
1985 Samuel L. Jackson    
1986 Wilford Williams*    
1987 Eric D. Brand, Sr.    
1988 Richard S. Rhodes    


* Deceased